Sunday, April 15, 2012

Guns N’ Roses Alumni Perform at 2012 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame

Memebers of the original Guns N’ Roses lineup, and two other alumni, got together for a three song set at the 2012 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame induction ceremony tonight (April 14, 2012).

Duff McKagan, Slash, ‘Use Your Illusion’-era drummer Matt Sorum and guitarist Gilby Clarke kicked things off with a rendition of ‘Mr. Brownstone.’

Then original drummer Steven Adler took over for the next two songs, ‘Sweet Child O’ Mine’ and ‘Paradise City.’

Slash’s current bandmate Myles Kennedy handled vocal duties with a little help from Green Day‘s Billy Joe Armstrong on the first number.  Kennedy filled in as nicely as could be expect, if you couldn’t get Axl Rose, who is still performing under the Guns N’ Roses name.

Rose, in classic Axl-fashion chose not to attend the festivities via a much-discussed open letter.  Original guitarist Izzy Stradlin also opted out of the fray, as did long-time and current keyboardist Dizzy Reed.

No comments:

Post a Comment